Welcome GUEST!      CREATE ACCOUNT - Forgot Password?

Create an account to share your experiences and more!

E-MAIL   PASS  

Auto Log-in Future Sessions (on this computer).
Browse Reviews Browse all our reviews with customized filtering and sorting.

Filtering Options Select Option Description
By Company Private Media Group
[ Remove ]
Option only available from company page.
Review Score
Minimum Score:  
Breakdown by min score.
By Niche View only sites in the selected niche.
By Site Type View only sites in the selected site type.
Display Format Maximized  |   List View Change the display format below.
Sort by Date  |   Score  |   Replies Re-sort the reviews by select criteria.

Shown : 1-9 of 9  

Visit Private.com

1. Private.com (2)

Pay
Active
60
standard (10) 06-10-11  10:49am
Rookie Badge TRUST USER?   YES (14), NO (0)
Status: Current Member for less than 1 month (at the time of review).
Pros: - That feeling you get the very first time you log on as a member to the website of one of the older, classier purveyors of adult material who has shown the ability to combine eroticism, beauty, and proper cinematic techniques to create some of the better adult films in circulation since the '60s.

- Um...

- Not constant login requests like a few other big name sites.

- If a grad student were researching "how companies unintentionally encourage the pirating of their material" then I'd recommend visiting this website. I think it could be an extremely useful example.
Cons: - 250KB/s max on a 6Mbps DSL connection. ~150KB/s most of the time.

- You're not allowed to queue downloads, so you'll only be able to get whatever you sit and monitor and click (and re-click when it fails) to download. Maybe you'll be able to get 8 scenes per day.. Maybe twelve?

- Constant "503 Service Temporarily Unavailable" errors if you try to look at other pages after beginning a download. The site supposedly allows four connections, but I ran into trouble with less.

- Repeated "size mismatch" errors when using download managers.

- A laughably small collection of movies for a 50 year old company.

- 350 movies wouldn't be so bad if they were decent quality, but most are comparable to early 2000's VCDs. Yep. That poor. I'd estimate only 25% or so are HD.

- You'll be lucky to download the HD movies without the connection failing or the speed dropping to 0kbps, and, when it does, you'll be lucky to resume. If you can, guess what? You start over. Hooray
Bottom Line: Videobox has almost 300 Private videos available, consistently fast connection speeds (600kbps+), and the .264 quality is better than Private.com's standard quality. Not to mention you can use download managers at VB and queue up dozens of movies to view later. It looks like they offer HD now, too, so there is absolutely no advantage to joining this site. It's a frustrating waste of money.

Seriously, don't do it. You'll be disappointed that the site even exists and you'll think to yourself, "Wow, I just wasted $30" or "I could've put that money towards a _______ membership."

Consider yourself warned.

A bad experience.

A waste of money.

Stay away.
Respond: 14 Replies - Add Reply


Visit Private.com

2. Private.com (2)

Pay
Active
81
TheSquirrel (53) 12-06-13  04:16pm
Rookie Badge  Talk Back  Pollster  Top Monthly User  Trusted User  Male Profile TRUST USER?   YES (50), NO (0)
Status: Current Member for less than 1 month (at the time of review).
Pros: No download limits, DRM, or regional discrimination.
Upmarket glossy settings instead of the usual cum stained casting couch.
Different locations plus professionally produced and lit videos with some good angles, makes the material look different to the usual mass produced porn.
Good speeds on streaming and download.
Access to one of the most well established, and professional porn studios, giving access to a good variety of new and archive material.
HD videos look really good.
Zipped photos.
Consistent updates, albeit of different age and quality.
Very little filler material.
Their representative did take the time to appear at PU and answer concerns about cancellation problems.
Easy login.
Cons: Cancellation not confirmed, took a number of messages and emails to confirm cancellation.
Awful navigation and search facilities.
Old and new, high and low spec videos, all mixed in together.
Clips from same dvd mixed up over different sites.
Some videos don't play.
Only mp4 available for download or streaming.
Too many fake breasts.
A little less material than on big sites.
Bottom Line: This place is a delight and pain in the ass in equal measure, what you get though is quality stuff. Private is yet another dvd site masquerading as a network, so I use the main home page as base, then use the various sites as a filter and search facility. I am still finding some great material, but with no meaningful category search facilities, it is hard work and time consuming being a member. Browsing can be frustrating and no fun, if you spend more time searching than viewing.

On the main home page videos are not listed in chronoligical order of update, although scenes are, and so are the scenes on the individual sites, but updates are a mix of new and old material, so you get old 480 quality, mixed with 720 and 1080 quality, and scenes from each dvd are split up across the network on different sites. This has to be one of the most irritating porn sites to browse on the internet. Everything is mixed up together like an Eton Mess (created when a student dropped his dessert on the floor resulting in everything being mixed up. That sums up navigation).

For instance, if you go to Private Castings you will find a selection of videos with names like Guns And Rough Sex, Sex Auditions, and Cum To Daddy, split up into clips, but you wont find them all on the same site. For example, Cum To Daddy has a clip on Private Castings, but the other scenes from that video are to be found on both Russian Teen Ass, and Tight And Teen.

To me some of the older 480 clips don't look at all good, despite some glamorous and luxurious location filming, directors often can't resist changing from one angle to another, like you're going to get bored watching a beautiful girl getting fucked from the same angle for more than ten seconds, and once again there are far too many gynaecological closeups, and fake breasts.

Things could be so much more enjoyable with a little thought and organisation. Or maybe there is thought and organisation behind it all. Of course you don't think a company like Private just leaves it to chance do you? They've been around since 1965, and don't get to be in business this long by leaving things to chance. You think piracy is putting these guys out of business? I don't think so. They pre date internet porn, they predate video, they nearly predate me, but not quite.

Ah yes, video tapes, remember those? You'd make the effort, to go to one of those video shops, and fork out a lot of money buying the genuine article from some distant relative of the Krays, who'd only recently got the jail bars off his arse, but it was worth it, you finally had the real thing. Then you'd get it home and put it in the video machine, and wait, and wait, and wait...then finally, finally, after half an hour, it got to the good bit, and then it was over. WHAT!? That's as bad as my sex life, that can't be it!

But it was, and you didn't even have a remote control to forward wind. Ah, but they knew how to frame a shot, and they were actors, and it was all produced so well, but you just wasted an hour and a half of your life.

Porn is now vastly improved so I'm being a little harsh in judging Private who has to compete with the number of dvd's on the likes of Video Box or Videos Z, and the number of sites on 21 Sextury or Teen Mega World, and are attempting a sleight of hand at trying to make it look as though there is more than there really is. I think there's enough anyway, without the sleight of hand, even though the older material is far inferior in picture spec, though not in production. Making searching impossible and time consuming means longer memberships.

Same goes for the cancellation problem. It maybe designed that way for a reason. It took a number of emails and messages to get them to confirm my cancellation. One of the problems was their internal service did not recognise my membership password, so it was impossible to cancel using their links. Some of those missed cancellations are going to slip through "accidentally" which means more money.

The newer vids look very impressive, and if I was going to compare them to anything it would be to those early higher budget porn movies shot on film. Picture content is varied. Some clips have only 5-10 pics, some have over 100, and some have none at all, but they are of good quality when they exist, and can be downloaded in zipped form, or browsed through on the same player as the videos.

Private has lasted this long, mainly because they've maintained a high standard, and given people what they want - action, and done it with a style and professionalism that few others have. The videos don't all look the same as they do on some networks, due to a number of different directors working in different locations.

If not for the cancellation problems and navigation I would have stayed longer and scored higher. Just before I was due to post this review, the Private representative appeared on PU to answer the cancellation concerns. If that improves I will join again.
Respond: 6 Replies - Add Reply


Visit Private.com

3. Private.com (2)

Pay
Newbie
50*
kirkwall (0) 08-29-09  12:47pm
No Badges TRUST USER?   YES (2), NO (1)
Status: Current Member for less than 1 month (at the time of review).
Pros: great looking women
Cons: DRM. I see where s review on this site says no DRM anymore.....I'm here to tell you as of 8-29-09 they have a 7 day DRM. That means after 7 days it doesn't work. To add insult to injury they don't mention their DRM policy before you join. Additionally they do not respond to emails asking for an explanation.

the search function is close to useless

very difficult and non user friendly signing in protocol
Bottom Line: Do your self a favor........Stay clear of this site....

Private.com apparently does not care what we think and see themselves as above having to respond to our legitimate concerns and complaints.

Arrogance is not an attractive attribute and Private.com embodies that very word.
Respond: 5 Replies - Add Reply


Visit Private.com

4. Private.com (2)

Pay
Active
100
studslut (8) 01-12-07  07:53pm
Rookie Badge TRUST USER?   YES (3), NO (7)
Status: Current Member for over 1 year (at the time of review).
Pros: - PREMIERE EURO HARDCORE SEX
- Glamourous Girls & Boys
- Pro Ass-Stretching Anal Shoots (YEAH!)
- Print Magazine Archive Dating Back to the 1960'S
- Pierre Woodman, Period!
- Extensive DVD Release Archives
- The Finest Smut Photography Ever!
Cons: - NONE
- Not even the fact that D/L's are protected.
- Or that the magazine scans could be a little bigger.
Bottom Line: If I could give the masters at Private a thousand, I would, twice! This has been my homepage for the past four years. For what they give you, it's worth the annual membership!

I'm a devotee of all things Private, ever since I found my dad's stash of XXX magazines when I was eight. Their's is what would become the standard by which I've judged all pornography ever since. There is never anyone but perfect tens in all of their features. The guys and the girls! And the sex, boy, it's what all sex should look like. The girls really get into the poundings, and the fellas are fuckin' merciless. Huge faaat-ass dicks that get rammed into the tightest puckered booties that Europe has to offer!

I'm now going on my third annual subscription and I'll most likely remain a member for life. When you consider that a single published issue of their mags sell for $25 & up at adult bookstores, and the fact that you get access to all of their monthly editions on the site every month, I don't see how anyone could ever cancel their membership. Additionally, you can go as far back to their archived debut issue. So along with basic smut comes a veritable history lesson on the evolutionary culture of pornography: from the furry hippie 60's, the coked-up disco 70's, dyNASTY era 80's, gen x(XX) 90's, to the cyber age of the WiFi millennium.

Private is simply the best and one day I too hope that all my sons follow in my and my father's footsteps and get their rocks off with Private, too.
Respond: 3 Replies - Add Reply


Visit Private.com

5. Private.com (2)

Pay
Active
84
rearadmiral (340) 11-13-13  10:33am
Rookie Badge  Talk Back  Comments  Pollster  Top Monthly User  Hardcore Badge  Trusted User  Male Profile TRUST USER?   YES (69), NO (0)
Status: Current Member for less than 1 month (at the time of review).
Pros: - 660 Private titles
- Likely the most lavish productions of any current large studio
- Stunning models
- Some HD available
- Supports download managers
- Lots of anal (might be a con for some)
- Updates with two scenes (not full DVDs) added per day
Cons: - Not a true network of sites as indicated
- Download speeds can vary
- Sorting functions are limited
- A few minor issues with separate links leading to the same scene and wrong star names
Bottom Line: This is one of the better studio sites where Iíve had a membership, but since I find most studio sites lacking in some key areas that isnít necessarily praise. This is a good site that offers solid value though.

Youíll note that I refer to this as a site while others consider it a network. The TBP review notes that a membership to the main site comes with ten sites in total. Thatís sort of true, because those other Ďsitesí exist, but it is also misleading. The additional sites contain nothing different from what is on the main site. The additional sites are more like niche tags. If you sort by DVD and then open a DVD youíll see that some of the scenes in the DVD are tagged with the watermarks of those bonus sites. While this may be useful for sorting a niche you like, no one should join expecting access to both Private and bonus sites offering additional and unique content.

Currently the site has 660 DVDs available. Unlike so many other studio sites it appears that Private hasnít neglected to upload some scenes in DVDs. For those who know Privateís videos they donít need an introduction, but for those not familiar with them, Private is a European studio (likely the oldest in the industry) known for high quality productions. The studio uses only the best looking models (mostly European but a few American A-listers too), has incredibly high production values and often shoots in exotic (and expensive) locations. Like so much of European porn, anal sex is frequent which may deter some members. If the site has a weak point, it isnít the quality of the porn.

The siteís main weak point, as seems to be common with studio sites, is in the website execution. The site itself is simple, which in many cases is an advantage, but in this case more detail and options should be made available. For example, when sorting by DVD (my preference) the only option is to sort by popularity or title. There is no option to sort by upload date or HD versus SD content.

Iíll confess that Iíve become a bit of a Ďsize queení in recent months: life is too short for low res porn. The result is that unless there is a specific scene that I really want, I wonít download anything less than 720p. On this site, that meant leaving a lot of porn on the table. (I canít really say how much HD is available because there is no way that I can find to sort for it, but I estimate that maybe 40% is available as HD.) Given that some of the DVDs available here were filmed prior to HD I canít fault the studio for this and I assume that all newly shot and uploaded DVDs will be available in HD.

Where only SD is available there is usually only one option of 720x480, though some come in at 720x540. The only file type offered is mp4. Many scenes also offer a lower-res version for mobile devices.

The HD scenes still only offer mp4 but there are more options for resolutions. Those are 480p, 720p, 1080p and mobile. I downloaded the 1080p and those came in at 1920x1080 at 4,100kb/s and 25fps. Interestingly (for a non-tech guy) the file sizes are much smaller than Iím used to seeing for scenes of this resolution. I donít understand how theyíre encoded, but the site really has struck a great balance between how the scenes look (they look great Ė clear and crisp) and the file size. I certainly appreciate their effort.

Scenes are also available for streaming in the same resolutions offered for downloads.

The site allows download managers and I had no issue with timeouts. I realize that some have reported being limited to five downloads at once, but since I only use a manager to queue up downloads for one-at-a-time download I had no issues. I was also able to continue navigating when downloading contrary to what some others have reported. Download speeds were up to normal standards but I did see speeds drop off on a few occasions. I usually saw 10+MB/s but it could drop as low as 3MB/s for short periods.

A couple of minor issues popped up in that on more than one occasion I went to download a scene and my download manager said I already had downloaded it. It appears that some of the links may lead to the wrong scene. Another relatively minor quibble is that on maybe a dozen or so of the scenes I downloaded the female talent was incorrectly listed. As this is the studio that shot the video Iíd like to think they could avoid this mistake.

The bottom line for me is that this is a solid site that offers a lot of top-quality porn for a fair price. While the site could use more tags and search tools, and should continue to add HD content, even as it stands it offers great value for your porn dollars.
Respond: 3 Replies - Add Reply


Visit Private.com

6. Private.com (2)

Pay
Newbie
88*
Cashed (1) 08-21-09  08:55pm
No Badges TRUST USER?   YES (8), NO (0)
Status: Current Member for less than 1 month (at the time of review).
Pros: No DRM anymore.
Unlimited downloading.
Great selection of movies, and quality pics.
Very friendly, and helpful members/moderators on the forums
Cons: Need to improve their search.
Movies aren't organized by category.
No customer ratings on movies.
Bottom Line: If you love Private movies it's now worth the monthly subscription, because it has no DRM on the movies.
Respond: 2 Replies - Add Reply


Visit Private.com

7. Private.com (2)

Pay
Active
69
slutty (111) 02-10-10  01:56pm
Rookie Badge  Talk Back  Comments  Pollster  Top Monthly User  Hardcore Badge  Trusted User  Male Profile TRUST USER?   YES (47), NO (0)
Status: Current Member for less than 1 month (at the time of review).
Pros: Since I keep getting responses to my comment, I figured I'd go ahead and write a review. Hopefully this answers everybody's questions.

-Good size archive, almost 500 downloadable DVDs, 1160 zipped photosets, 200 downloadable full magazines.
-Partial magazine archive, most of which is downloadable in PDF format which is excellent quality. I'm not really sure "quantify" good quality for a pdf, but they appear to be digital prints of the magazines, not scans.
-Decent download speeds, I almost maxed out my connection - 1.4 MB/sec in Eastern USA
-Downloadable zips of photosets and magazines
-Video quality is acceptable 640x480 1500 kbps on high
-No DRM
-Photo quality okay, 1200x800 for the newer stuff 600x400 for the older stuff
-Good price with TBP discount
Cons: -Navigation is downright aweful. If the navagation was similar to what is shown in the preview the site would be much better. I ended up keeping a window of the preview open so I could figure out which videos had which stars in them.
-Have a search function, but it is basically worthless unless you know the title name you are looking for
-Even when you find the DVD you are looking for, the thumbnail previews of the scenes are so small you can't tell who is in it. They don't even list who stars in the DVD or scene when you get to the DVD page.
-Download managers do not work
-Content not exclusive, many Private DVDs are available on sites like Videobox.
-It just takes too much time to sort through it all, I gave up and moved on
Bottom Line: I think this site is the perfect example of a site that could be great with some major fixes to navigation and setup. Based on the amount of Pros I listed, you may think my score is far too low, but sites like this just piss me off. They certainly have some great content, and if you have the time you can find it - but why have the preview area show reasonably good navigation and then when you join the site it is terrible? I kept thinking there must be something I'm missing, like you have to click somewhere to go back to a "home page" or something. I can't stand sites that use this type of "bait and switch" tactics. Navigation, especially with a site this large, is pretty much THE MOST important thing.

Based on the stuff I found, if they fixed the navigation issues, added much larger thumbnails and scene previews, this site certainly could be excellent.

Even if they say they fix the navigation problems (see the Webmaster's reply to my comment) I would be hesitant to join again. Thus, it would be hard for me to recommend to anyone unless they have boatloads of free time.

Sorry if my Bottom Line sounded more like a rant, but content providers need to learn not to mislead customers.
Respond: 2 Replies - Add Reply


Visit Private.com

8. Private.com (2)

Pay
Active
65
owen (6) 08-01-08  12:33pm
Rookie Badge TRUST USER?   YES (15), NO (0)
Status: Was a member approx. 2 months prior to this review.
Pros: * Some of the most attractive Euro models out there
* Women, not girls
* High-quality photos
* Lots of hardcore
* Lots of anal
* A large amount of content
Cons: * Difficult to navigate
* Not enough updates
* Photo sets are short
* Low-quality videos
* Videos don't have nearly as much energy as the photo sets
Bottom Line: Private's site is much like Private's videos, both good and bad. The actresses are flawless, some of the most beautiful women in the world. And I don't mean girls, but honest-to-god women. And few of them are afraid to take a cock in the ass or do a DP scene, or another woman for that matter. But the video scenes lack a certain energy: there's a lot of fucking, but it's hard to put yourself into the action.

The site has a fair amount of original content, but it's a chore to navigate and it's not updated as often as would be convenient.

Every few years I wonder what Private's been up to, and every few years I rejoin. But once I'm there, I wonder why I bothered paying so much for so little.
Respond: 1 Reply - Add Reply


Visit Private.com

9. Private.com (2)

Pay
Active
70
JBDICK (20) 04-04-08  11:42am
Rookie Badge  Talk Back  Pollster  Top Monthly User  Trusted User  Male Profile TRUST USER?   YES (31), NO (0)
Status: Current Member for less than 1 month (at the time of review).
Pros: The sad thing is this company has the potential to be the BEST site, I would easily give it a score of 100 if it fixed the Bad things I've described, because they have the most beautiful girls, the diversity of content, and their BACK CATALOGUE. So this is the only good thing I can say really. Sorry
Cons: The reason I have given this site a low score because the dvd is poor quality. I was prepared to live with the DRM, although that is misleading. The site states BURN & KEEP FOREVER. and in smaller print Watch it Forever, but only if you remain a member? Also, when you browse the content, most of the dvd titles are not DVD quality, with complete scenes that are 16M in size, you know you can only appreciate these if you want to play them on your mobile, not a 32 inch TV, hello! Why don't they HI-RES all their old Magazines, made them easy to download, and with the Films, download the whole film, not scene by scene. The largest scene I have found so far is 240MB. On most other sites that size is used for the Credits.
Bottom Line: I cancelled my membership after 5 hours. Sorry.

After paying this membership and feeling TOTALLY ripped off compared to other sites, I decided to register at www.pornusers.com so I could make this review to WARN others. This is my first review ever because I feel so strongly about being so disappointed. If you are going to spend this much, go to another site.
Respond: 0 Replies - Add Reply


*Newbie reviews and ratings don't count toward a site's overall score/rank until the user reaches the Rookie status level (5 points). This rule is needed to help prevent fake (or heavily biased) profiles and reviews.

Shown : 1-9 of 9  


Easy Site Search
Advanced Search


Most Reviews
1. 21Sextury.com (10)
2. Babes Network.com (7)
3. DDF Network (6)
4. Bangbros Network (6)
5. VideoBox (6)
6. Naughty America (5)
7. Wow Girls (4)
8. X-Art (4)
9. Evil Angel (4)
10. Twistys (4)

View All : Most Reviews



Home - Sites - Users - Reviews - Comments - Categories - Forum

Contact Us - Announcements - FAQ's - Terms & Rules - Porn Review - Webmasters

Protecting Minors
We are strong supporters of RTA and ICRA, two of the most recognized self labeling organizations. Our site is properly labeled to assist in the protection of minors accessing inappopriate content. For information about filtering tools, check this site.

DISCLAIMER: ALL MODELS APPEARING ON THIS WEBSITE ARE 18 YEARS OR OLDER.

To report child pornography, go directly to ASACP!  We're proud to be a corporate sponsor.
Have concerns or questions about porn addiction?  We recommend this helpful resource.

Copyright © 2007 Ranks.com, Inc. and its licensors. All Rights Reserved.


Loaded in 0.06 seconds.